Scheduled Downtime
On Tuesday 24 October 2023 @ 5pm MT the forums will be in read only mode in preparation for the downtime. On Wednesday 25 October 2023 @ 5am MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online later in the morning.
Normal Operations
The forums are back online with normal operations. If you notice any issues or errors related to the forums, please reach out to help@ucar.edu

CICE case with BL99 scheme init_vertical_profile error

wangxiong

Hi, guys. Since I am a rookie in CICE, so in recent few days, I thought why not just stick to the forcing data downloaded from Github and try to run several simple cases with different settings. In this specific case, I use the gx3 grid and change nothing but switch the thermodynamic scheme from "mushy layer" to "BL99", and all the changes in ice_in I have done are according to CICE/icepack/configuration/scripts/options/set_nml.thermo1. But after I submitted the task , I got the error message. I put the brief error message down below:

Finished writing ./history/iceh_ic.1998-01-01-00000.nc

(init_vertical_profile)Starting zSin < min_salin, layer 1
(init_vertical_profile)zSin = 5.467137390670132E-002
(init_vertical_profile)min_salin = 0.100000000000000
(icepack_warnings_setabort) T :file icepack_therm_vertical.F90 :line
(init_vertical_profile) init_vertical_profile: Starting zSin < min_salin, layer
(icepack_warnings_aborted) ... (thermo_vertical)
(icepack_warnings_aborted) ... (icepack_step_therm1)
(icepack_step_therm1) ice: Vertical thermo error:

(abort_ice)ABORTED:
(abort_ice) called from ice_step_mod.F90
(abort_ice) line number 380
(abort_ice) error = (step_therm1)
application called MPI_Abort(MPI_COMM_WORLD, 31) - process 2