Scheduled Downtime
On Tuesday 24 October 2023 @ 5pm MT the forums will be in read only mode in preparation for the downtime. On Wednesday 25 October 2023 @ 5am MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online later in the morning.
Normal Operations
The forums are back online with normal operations. If you notice any issues or errors related to the forums, please reach out to help@ucar.edu

undefined reference to `history_mp_fincllonlat_'

pasha_@ngs_ru

Hi All.

I'm a novice CAM user and I'm trying to get CAM3 compiled on Itanium. While linking I receive *undefined reference to `history_mp_fincllonlat_'* from intel fortran 8.1. (Package ID: l_fce_pc_8.1.023).

More precisely:

runtime_opts.o(.text+0xa3c9): In function `preset':
~/work/cam1/models/atm/cam/src/control/runtime_opts.F90:1609: undefined reference to `history_mp_fincllonlat_'
make: *** [~/work/cam1/models/atm/cam/bld/camrun_omp_mpi/cam] Error 1

'nm' tells me there is no history_mp_fincllonlat_ in the history.o file.
This is quite a strange situation because in history.F90 I found

character(len=10) :: fincl(pflds,ptapes)
character(len=max_chars) :: fincllonlat(pflds,ptapes)
character(len=8 ) :: fexcl(pflds,ptapes)
character(len=10) :: fhstpr(pflds,ptapes)
character(len=10) :: fwrtpr(pflds,ptapes)

What is more strange I have to arrays

character(len=10) :: fincl(pflds,ptapes)
character(len=max_chars) :: fincllonlat(pflds,ptapes)

defined almost the same way. Both have equivalence statement in the same file
character(len=max_chars) fincl1lonlat(pflds)
equivalence (fincl1lonlat,fincllonlat(1,1))
character*10 fincl1(pflds)
equivalence (fincl1,fincl(1,1))

but one array is! defined and the other is not:
> nm history.o | grep! fincl < br />00000000006afddc C history_mp_fincl_
00000000006f8292 C history_mp_fincl1lonlat_

I don't know, maybe this is a problem with *equivalence* or something. Does anyone know the correct answer? :)
Thanx!

jmccaa