Scheduled Downtime
On Tuesday 24 October 2023 @ 5pm MT the forums will be in read only mode in preparation for the downtime. On Wednesday 25 October 2023 @ 5am MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online later in the morning.
Normal Operations
The forums are back online with normal operations. If you notice any issues or errors related to the forums, please reach out to help@ucar.edu

What is the "case.st_archive" used for? Why is the status of this submission always "PEND"?

Hi,I'm a rookie of the CESM, and recently I have tried to configure the test case "b.e20.B1850.f19_g17.test" according to the "Quick Started Guide". After the building of the test case, I tried to submit this case with "case.submit", and the results are as follow:

Creating component namelists
Finished creating component namelists
Check case OK
submit_jobs case.run
Submit job case.run
Submitting job script bsub  < .case.run --resubmit
Submitted job id is 55440
Submit job case.st_archive
Submitting job script bsub -w 'done(55440)' < case.st_archive --resubmit
Submitted job id is 55441
Submitted job case.run with id 55440
Submitted job case.st_archive with id 55441

I think these mean the submission is successful. In my opinion, the submission of "case.run" is used to run the model, but I'm wondering what the submission of "case.st_archive" is used for. Besides that, the status of "case.st_archive" is always "PEND" as follows:JOBID   USER    STAT  QUEUE      FROM_HOST   EXEC_HOST   JOB_NAME   SUBMIT_TIME
55440   liangpe RUN   normal     login1      4*comput34  *.test.run Jun 18 17:01
                                             23*comput54
                                             28*comput53
                                             28*comput56
                                             28*comput55
                                             32*comput58
                                             1*comput57