Scheduled Downtime
On Tuesday 24 October 2023 @ 5pm MT the forums will be in read only mode in preparation for the downtime. On Wednesday 25 October 2023 @ 5am MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online later in the morning.
Normal Operations
The forums are back online with normal operations. If you notice any issues or errors related to the forums, please reach out to help@ucar.edu

Question about clm5 workflow

HanLZH

HanLZH
Dear all,
Dear @oleson,

I am completely new to clm5 mode and I would like to ask some basic questions that have been bugging me for a long time.
I focus on the fire process. At the current stage, I want to simply simulate the global burned area (farea_burned) from 1900-2000.
Here is my workflow:
Code:
./create_newcase --case I1850_spinup --res f09_g17 --compset I1850Clm50BgcCropCru --mach Tianhe2 --run-unsupported
-----------------------------------------
./xmlchange CLM_ACCELERATED_SPINUP="on"
./xmlchange RUN_TYPE=startup, RUN_STARTDATE=1850-01-01, GET_REFCASE=FALSE
./xmlchange DOUT_S=TRUE
./xmlchange JOB_WALLCLOCK_TIME=24:00:00
./xmlchange STOP_N=5,STOP_OPTION=nyears
./xmlchange RESUBMIT=9
-----------------------------------------
user_nl_clm:
hist_empty_htapes = .true.
hist_avgflag_pertape = 'A'
hist_nhtfrq = -8760
hist_mfilt = 1
hist_fincl1 = 'RAIN','Rnet','TSOI','GPP','NPP','NEP','FAREA_BURNED','BAF_CROP'

I find that my output cycles every 20 years. I don't know if I'm doing it right. If I simply simulate the farea_burned variable, do I still need to perform the spinup process?
If spinup is not required, what should RUN_TYPE choose? Because as long as I choose startup, the variable output will cycle in every 20 years.

Looking forward to your reply.
Thanks in advance for your patient answer.

oleson

Keith Oleson
CSEG and Liaisons
Staff member