Scheduled Downtime
On Tuesday 24 October 2023 @ 5pm MT the forums will be in read only mode in preparation for the downtime. On Wednesday 25 October 2023 @ 5am MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online later in the morning.
Normal Operations
The forums are back online with normal operations. If you notice any issues or errors related to the forums, please reach out to help@ucar.edu

Regarding Roughness Length z0

Hi, my name's George McDonald, I'm a graduate student at Georgia Tech. I have a question regarding any available outputs of the roughness length Z0MG (momentum roughness length over ground, in m), from the Community Land Model as incorporated in CCSM4 for paleoclimate runs.

The specific runs that I am looking at (which were done as NCAR's contribution to the paleoclimate model intercomparison project) are over 30 model years for each of the following periods during the last glacial cycle: Modern (20th century), 6 kyr ago, and 21 kyr ago (Last Glacial Maximum). I currently have 6 hourly outputs of winds from the lowest model output that I'm using to look at how dune orientations in 8 equatorial dune fields vary over the epochs. The filenames of the runs themselves are as follows:

b40.lgm21ka.1deg.003M
b40.mh6ka.1deg.003M
b40.20th.track1.1deg.012

My question is whether there are Z0MG outputs available for these or comparable runs. I am hoping to use the Z0MG in the law of the wall, to scale the winds from the lowest model layer to 10m above the surface (I received the wind outputs from a collaborator, which is why I'm not familiar with the procedure for obtaining outputs of additional variables).