Scheduled Downtime
On Tuesday 24 October 2023 @ 5pm MT the forums will be in read only mode in preparation for the downtime. On Wednesday 25 October 2023 @ 5am MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online later in the morning.
Normal Operations
The forums are back online with normal operations. If you notice any issues or errors related to the forums, please reach out to help@ucar.edu

Any tips on setting surface soil moisture as climatology at each time step at a specific domain in CLM

yangx2

xinyi yang
Hi everyone,
I am going to carry out an experiment setting surface soil moisture as prescribed values at a specific domain. It is very similar to the Pacific pacemaker experiment which is usually applied in POP. I know how to modify on POP, but I am kind of new to CLM. Are there any documents or tips on modifying CLM? Thanks in advance.
Best,
Skylar

oleson

Keith Oleson
CSEG and Liaisons
Staff member
You might be able to leverage the soil moisture stream feature in CLM5. From the ChangeLog:

Add new prescribed moisture streams feature. This allows the user
to specify a streams file for soil moisture and use it in place of the model prognostically
determining soil moisture. To turn it on set use_soil_moisture_streams=T in user_nl_clm. You can also
set the filename to use with stream_fldfilename_soilm, and there are other _soilm namelist
items to control the years to run over. The file MUST be on the same grid as the model resolution.

The module controlling this is:

biogeophys/SoilMoistureStreamMod.F90

You could try modifying this to just read in the surface soil moisture over a specified region.

You might try also posting on the CAM forum.

yangx2

xinyi yang
You might be able to leverage the soil moisture stream feature in CLM5. From the ChangeLog:

to specify a streams file for soil moisture and use it in place of the model prognostically