Scheduled Downtime
On Tuesday 24 October 2023 @ 5pm MT the forums will be in read only mode in preparation for the downtime. On Wednesday 25 October 2023 @ 5am MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online later in the morning.
Normal Operations
The forums are back online with normal operations. If you notice any issues or errors related to the forums, please reach out to help@ucar.edu

need help to run CAM4

Hi,
I'm very new to model and using parallel computer. Now I've been trying to get CAM4_9_02 default run on blufile.ucar.edu machine for several days. I inputed the account number in
the line
BSUB -P # account number
in the file run-ibm.csh and tried to run it by type run-ibm.csh &
but they give me a report like

[1] 692956
be1105en$ Missing name for redirect.

Do you have any idea which part i did wrong?

eaton

CSEG and Liaisons
That script is designed to be submitted to the batch queue, i.e.:

% bsub < run-ibm.csh

But note that in addition to the project number you'll also need to supply the root to your source tree. The script currently contains:

set camroot = /fis/cgd/...

That path needs to be supplied.

Thanks a lot! Now I have another problem after changing the camroot
it says

bash-3.1$ LSB_HOSTS: Undefined variable.
ERROR: unrecognized arguments: 4

following lots of configure options looks come from the configure file

and in the last it says
configure failed

Do I need to make some change to configure as well?

eaton

CSEG and Liaisons
LSB_HOSTS isn't defined unless you submit the job to the batch queue using bsub.

You haven't provided enough info for me to guess why the configure command isn't working.

eaton

CSEG and Liaisons
I did some testing of the script with cam4_9_02 and found the following: