Scheduled Downtime
On Tuesday 24 October 2023 @ 5pm MT the forums will be in read only mode in preparation for the downtime. On Wednesday 25 October 2023 @ 5am MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online later in the morning.
Normal Operations
The forums are back online with normal operations. If you notice any issues or errors related to the forums, please reach out to help@ucar.edu

WACCM-D test

Rgh

Hi all,
I am going to run a test in a local cluster where we have CESM2.
These are the steps that I follow:
create_newcase --compset FWmadSD --res f09_f09_mg17 --case=~/cases/test
cd ~/cases/test/
./case.setup
./case.build
build step goes well and successfully finished the job.
Then:
./case.submit
but the job crashes after few minutes and I have log files including convergence failure and
NetCDF: Invalid dimension ID or name
NetCDF: Variable not found

I am really new in learning CESM2 and appreciate any help.
In scratch directory I have bld and run. If all goes well where should I find outputs? I do not have any archive directory at the moment.
What about required inputs? If there was any missing input data, build aborts, right?

Thanks in advance

mmills

CSEG and Liaisons
Staff member
If you are new to running CESM2, your first step should be to try to run a compset for CAM instead of WACCM. For example, try creating, building, and running a case with the FHIST compset. If that causes you trouble, please post in the Infrastructure forum here, where others can help you with porting:

Have others run CESM2 on your local cluster? If you succeed in running a CAM compset, but still can't run WACCM, please attach the cesm.log and atm.log files from your run directory in a reply on this thread. I will take a look at them and try to give you suggestions.

Also, if you are interested in creating useful names for your CESM cases, you may choose to follow the CESM case naming convention as described here: