Scheduled Downtime
On Tuesday 24 October 2023 @ 5pm MT the forums will be in read only mode in preparation for the downtime. On Wednesday 25 October 2023 @ 5am MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online later in the morning.
Normal Operations
The forums are back online with normal operations. If you notice any issues or errors related to the forums, please reach out to help@ucar.edu

Definitions of variables

tim

Tim Player
Hello!

I am processing climate data produced by CESM1.2 / CAM4. My goal is to provide visualizations of the top-of-atmosphere radiation budget to assess the impact of localized surface albedo modification. I am an intern who is new to CESM, and my question is very simple.

Where are the model output variables rigorously defined?

Fields such as FLNT : Net longwave flux at top of model are partially described within the NetCDF metadata, but there are numerous conventions that are confusing to newcomers such as myself. For instance, the "net" descriptor apparently is positive-up when referring to longwave, yet positive-down when referring to shortwave radiation. I have also seen that the phrase "top of model" refers to a different pressure level than "top of atmosphere", which would be difficult to infer from the variable metadata alone.

I want to make sure I'm not making silly mistakes by using the wrong variables or sign conventions or missing important details. Yet I have not found a centralized set of rigorous variable definitions (i.e., unambiguously defining "longwave", "net", and "top of model") in the CESM User Guide, CAM4 Scientific Description, or even the Master Field Lists. Does a suitable glossary exist, or are these potentially confusing conventions and definitions assumed to be common knowledge?

If I am asking in the wrong forum or have missed a relevant post, please let me know. I am happy to provide more information about my specific use case, but it may not be relevant to this general question.