Scheduled Downtime
On Tuesday 24 October 2023 @ 5pm MT the forums will be in read only mode in preparation for the downtime. On Wednesday 25 October 2023 @ 5am MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online later in the morning.
Normal Operations
The forums are back online with normal operations. If you notice any issues or errors related to the forums, please reach out to help@ucar.edu

Errors with input dataset for CLM3.5-DGVM and -CN

I'm new to CLM. I have been able to get CLM3.5 running offline on our system. My problem is in turning on the flags for the DGVM and CN. I've been trying to run CLM3.5-DGVM and CLM3.5-CN just using the input datasets packaged with the CLM3.5 download but am encountering these errors:

For CLM-DGVM -
CHECK_DIM error: mismatch of input dimension 11300 with expected value 12182 for variable pft

For CLM-CN -
reading restart file
/inputdata/lnd/clm2/inidata_3.1/offline/clmi_0000-01-01_064x128_c070403.nc
Reading restart dataset
CHECK_VAR: variable t_ref2m is not on initial dataset

I have not changed the namelist from what was originally in the sample jobscript run-pc.csh. The maxpft is still 4.

The DGVM manual says that there are no special datasets required for the DGVM so I was wondering why the ones that came with CLM3.5 don't seem to match the expected DGVM and CN input in my model setup and what I can do about it.

I'd appreciate anyone's suggestions. Thanks!

slevis

Hi. Although there are no special datasets needed to run with the DGVM or CN, the initial dataset provided for the standard CLM is incompatible with the DGVM or CN. For this reason start both simulations with arbitrary initial conditions, which means finidat=' ' (a blank string).