Scheduled Downtime
On Tuesday 24 October 2023 @ 5pm MT the forums will be in read only mode in preparation for the downtime. On Wednesday 25 October 2023 @ 5am MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online later in the morning.
Normal Operations
The forums are back online with normal operations. If you notice any issues or errors related to the forums, please reach out to help@ucar.edu

How to couple CLM to GFS atmospheric model?

singh2299

Manmeet Singh
I have to couple CLM to the GFS atmospheric model. I am a novice as far as CLM is concerned. Any help would be of great use.

oleson

Keith Oleson
CSEG and Liaisons
Staff member
We have a tool in development that might be of use to you at some point, we will discuss this later this week. Can you contact me offline (oleson at ucar dot edu) and provide me with more details about your group, project, and collaborators?

sacks

Bill Sacks
CSEG and Liaisons
Staff member
@singh2299 - I saw the email you sent to Keith. Thank you for that. A key question is: how is the land model called in this system? Specifically, is the atmosphere the driver (that is, the main program), calling the land model from somewhere inside its physics? Or is there a separate driver that calls each of the components (a hub and spoke architecture)?

singh2299

Manmeet Singh
@sacks Thanks for your message. The atmosphere is the main driver that calls the land model inside physics. What strategy do you suggest is the best for going ahead with the coupling?

sacks

Bill Sacks
CSEG and Liaisons
Staff member
Sorry for the delayed reply.