Scheduled Downtime
On Tuesday 24 October 2023 @ 5pm MT the forums will be in read only mode in preparation for the downtime. On Wednesday 25 October 2023 @ 5am MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online later in the morning.
Normal Operations
The forums are back online with normal operations. If you notice any issues or errors related to the forums, please reach out to help@ucar.edu

How to output the fractions of different types of cloud

KeerZ

Hi all,

I am new to CAM and am confused about the meaning of various cloud fraction outputs. I am running a simulation with the BSSP585 compset using CESM2.1.3. The macrop_scheme and shallow_scheme ='CLUBB_SGS', the deep_scheme='ZM',and the microp_scheme ='MG'.

My first question is: what is the difference between CLOUD and CLOUDCOVER_CLUBB? Why does CLOUDCOVER_CLUBB have 33 vertical layers?

According to the CAM6 document, there are four types of cloud: marine stratocumulus cloud, convective cloud (including shallow and deep convective cloud), and layered cloud. I ran a sensitivity simulation and would like to separately examine how the four types of cloud change. I tried to output the CLOUD, CLDST, DP_CLD, and SH_CLD but the CLDST and SH_CLD are always zero because CLUBB handles the shallow convective. I wonder is there a way to get the cloud fractions of the above four types of cloud at each level?

Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!

katec

CSEG and Liaisons
Staff member